Supervisory Board compensation

Compensation in line with the size of the company

The rules governing Supervisory Board compensation are laid down in the articles of association of MTU Aero Engines AG. Such compensation is established relative to the size of the company and the duties and responsibilities of the respective members.

Pursuant to Article 12 of the articles of association of MTU Aero Engines AG, members of the Supervisory Board receive a fixed annual payment of \leqslant 50,000, payable at the end of the financial year. This sum is tripled in the case of the chair of the Supervisory Board, and multiplied by one and a half in the case of the deputy chair. In addition to the fixed annual payment, members serving on one of the Supervisory Board's committees receive an additional \leqslant 10,000 and a further \leqslant 20,000 if they chair a committee. Further, members of the Supervisory Board receive an attendance fee of \leqslant 3,000 for each meeting of the Supervisory Board and its committees, subject to an upper limit of \leqslant 3,000 per day. The attendance fee is halved for meetings convened by the chair or deputy chair that take place via telephone or video conference. Expenses incurred in connection with the exercise of their office are reimbursed, as is the value-added tax payable on the fees.

The members of the Supervisory Board do not receive any share-based compensation.

The following compensation was awarded to the individual members of the Supervisory Board of MTU Aero Engines AG for the financial years 2016 and 2015 respectively.

in €	2016 ¹⁾				20151)			
Supervisory Board member	Fixed annual payment	Committee member fees	Attendance fees	Total compensa-tion	Fixed annual payment	Committee member fees	Attendance fees	Total compensation
Klaus Eberhardt (Supervisory Board and Personnel Committee chairman) 3) 4)	150,000.00	50,000.00	24,000.00	224,000.00	150,000.00	50,000.00	27,000.00	227,000.00
Josef Mailer (Supervisory Board deputy chairman since Oct. 15, 2015) ^{2) 3) 5)}	75,000.00	20,000.00	24,000.00	119,000.00	15,833.33	4,222.22	6,000.00	26,055.55
Josef Hillreiner (Supervisory Board deputy chairman until Oct. 14, 2015) ^{2) (3) (5)}				0.00	59,166.67	15,777.78	24,000.00	98,944.45
Dr. Joachim Rauhut (Audit Committee chairman)	50,000.00	30,000.00	24,000.00	104,000.00	50,000.00	30,000.00	27,000.00	107,000.00
Thomas Bauer (since November 1, 2015)	50,000.00	0.00	15,000.00	65,000.00	8,333.33	0.00	3,000.00	11,333.33
Michael Behé 5)	50,000.00	0.00	15,000.00	65,000.00	50,000.00	0.00	15,000.00	65,000.00
Dr. Wilhelm Bender	50,000.00	0.00	15,000.00	65,000.00	50,000.00	0.00	15,000.00	65,000.00
Thomas Dautl	50,000.00	0.00	15,000.00	65,000.00	50,000.00	0.00	15,000.00	65,000.00
Babette Fröhlich (until April 14, 2016) 3) 5)	14,444.44	2,888.89	9,000.00	26,333.33	50,000.00	10,000.00	24,000.00	84,000.00
Berthold Fuchs (until October 31, 2015)				0.00	41,666.67	0.00	12,000.00	53,666.67
DrIng. Jürgen M. Geißinger ^{2) 4)}	50,000.00	20,000.00	15,000.00	85,000.00	50,000.00	20,000.00	18,000.00	88,000.00
Dr. Martin Kimmich 2) 5)	50,000.00	10,000.00	15,000.00	75,000.00	50,000.00	10,000.00	18,000.00	78,000.00
Heike Mandan (since April 15, 2016) 3) 5)	35,555.56	7,111.11	12,000.00	54,666.67	0.00	0.00	0.00	0.00
Prof. DrIng. Klaus Steffens	50,000.00	0.00	15,000.00	65,000.00	50,000.00	0.00	15,000.00	65,000.00
Prof. Dr. Marion A. Weissenberger-Eibl	50,000.00	0.00	15,000.00	65,000.00	50,000.00	0.00	15,000.00	65,000.00
Total	725,000.00	140,000.00	213,000.00	1,078,000.00	725,000.00	140,000.00	234,000.00	1,099,000.00

¹⁾ Amounts do not include VAT.

²⁾ Member of the Personnel Committee.

³⁾ Member of the Audit Committee.

⁴⁾ Member of the Nomination Committee.

⁵⁹ These employee representatives have declared that they will donate their Supervisory Board compensation to the Hans-Böckler-Stiftung, in accordance with the guidelines of the Confederation of German Trade Unions.